100 years at Blackburn
The Sisters of Nazareth first came to Blackburn in 1912 by invitation of the Bishop of Salford. and first lived in cramped circumstances in St Alban’s Place, caring for both vulnerable children and older people drawn from impoverished areas.
In 1917 the Sisters purchased a much larger property known as Beardwood Cliff and relocated from St Alban’s Place. The property, which occupies an elevated position with stunning views over the surrounding countryside, was adapted over the years to provide a convent and a care home and the name was changed to Nazareth House.
The children were moved to Manchester,
In 2007 the Sisters of Nazareth decided to adapt to the changing needs of older people by remodelling the former care home building into a retirement village named in honour of the Sr Victoire Larmeniere, the founder of the Congregation.
Southworth House is the first phase of that development and in December 2012 a hundred year celebration of the Sisters in Blackburn took place in the village.The current Bishop of Salford, Terence Brain celebrated Mass in the chapel,to commemorated the arrival of the Sisters in the area and celebrate their on-going commitment to the local area. The Sisters, together with residents, guests and officers of the Nazareth Care Charitable Trust all joined together afterwards to celebrate, including enjoying a slice of a special cake. See some more pictures form the day on our Gallery Page.
Follow the links on the left for some other historical snippets.