About the Sisters


In 1851 Victoire Larmenier, a young Sister from Rennes, France, was sent to England and six years later founded the first Nazareth House in Hammersmith, London. Since then the Congregation has expanded throughout the world, and now has a presence in five regions.

The Congregation of the Sisters of Nazareth worldwide is governed by the Superior General and the General Council who are elected by the General Chapter and oversee the operation of the Congregation.

 The Australasian region

is governed by the Regional Superior, Sister Dominica Cooper and her Councillors, Sister Elisapeta Tevaga and Sister Margaret O’Keefe. It consists of six Nazareth Houses situated in:

  • Ballarat, VICTORIA
  • Camberwell, VICTORIA
  • Christchurch, NEW ZEALAND
  • Tamworth, NEW SOUTH WALES
  • Wynnum, QUEENSLAND

Holy Family

 The Sisters of Nazareth model their lives on the Holy Family of Nazareth: Jesus, Mary and Joseph professing the three Vows of Poverty, Chastity and Obedience. They live the Rule of Saint Augustine placing high importance on prayer and community living.

The Sisters of Nazareth aspire to live the Congregation’s Core Values of Love, Compassion, Patience, Respect, Justice and Hospitality. These values are shared by all who are part of the Nazareth Community.